top of page

Chakra balancing and energy work is it really that important?

Yes it really is important as energy is everywhere within and around. Our whole universe is made from energy. There are many different types of energy ~ from light and heat energy, to gravity, chemical energy and electrical energy, to energy sent back and forth from humans and animals. 

The human body consists of five layers of energy. The first layer is your physical body the body that you can touch and see reflected in a mirror. The other four layers of energy which surround this first layer are commonly referred to collectively as your aura. Together, these five layers or energy bodies are the human energy field 

It’s amazing how others can affect our energetic fields, some of us are more sensitive to and aware of this than others. Being around a negative heavy energy can affect us negatively, just as much as being around a joyful child or laughing baby can lift us into that joyful carefree state of being. It can affect us collectively too in group situations, can you think of times this has happened? Maybe when one really grumpy person has brought down the positive vibe of others in the group? When your chakras are balanced and your energy is protected this doesn’t happen. 😉 

I remember when I was really ill my dog Toby would nudge my hand up with his nose quite forcefully at times when I was really very weak.  He wanted me to pat him, because he knew instinctively that I needed to absorb his ‘doggy watts!’ And guess what, he was right, pretty much instantly I felt a bit better after doing this, aside from the fact that his persistence and irresistible cuteness made me smile. 😀

So it really is very important to keep our energy balanced. Working to keep the energy of our bodies in balance can have such a positive influence on our over all wellbeing, the importance and benefits of this should never be underestimated. There are various methods used to do this. Some people use crystals to balance their chakra system, others chant, some use vibrational tools like sound bowls etc... 

I like to use Patricia Iris Kerins video below as I like her energy and the 'Cut of her Jib.'  Patricia does a lot of wonderful work, and has many other videos which you may find very helpful too. I first connected with her on Skype when I did a Mary Magdeline session with her and it resonated very deeply with me. Thereafter I went to her and Bill's beautiful Roundwood retreat near Nairn for a shamanic weekend, which was superb! I will post her video below as it is seriously well worth doing a couple of times a week. 

If we look at how chakras work, we see that they have a dynamic connection with each other and interact energetically. Therefore, when doing chakra balancing, it’s not only important to consider each chakra, but also the neighbouring centres, and the energy through the whole system.

There are 7 main energy centres in the body, known as chakras. Although there is said to be 12 in total. Cyndi Dale, energy healer and author of the ‘Advanced Chakra Wisdom’ emphasises the 12 chakra system as a way to use a wider range of energies for healing. Using 12 chakras allows us to draw from powerful energies outside of the human body and get in touch with the whole array of dimensions of our human experience. To read more about the 12 systems click here. 

Each chakra is located throughout our body so that it correlates to specific body ailment and physical dysfunctions; each energy centre also houses our mental and emotional strengths. When we have a physical issue, it creates weaknesses in our emotional behaviour. When we release the stale energy from the body, it can undo any tightness, stiffness, or malfunction of that area. The clearing of the energy can also balance our emotional state of mind. The Chakra Mind Body Balance is a two way street. If there are certain fears and emotions we are holding on to, we experience physical restrictions, too. If you have achiness or stiffness, or certain reoccurring emotions and fears, read more and you may find out which chakra is affected or blocked.

1st or Root Chakra Sits at the base of your spine, at your tailbone.

Physical imbalances in the root chakra include problems in the legs, feet, rectum, tailbone, immune system, male reproductive parts and prostrate gland. Those with imbalances here are also likely to experience issues of degenerative arthritis, knee pain, sciatica, eating disorders, and constipation.

Emotional imbalances include feelings affecting our basic survival needs: money, shelter and food; ability to provide for life’s necessities.When this chakra is balance, you feel supported, a sense of connection and safety to the physical world, and grounded.

The lesson of this chakra is self-preservation; we have a right to be here.

2nd or Sacral Chakra ~ Located two inches below your navel.

Physical imbalances include sexual and reproductive issues, urinary problems, kidney dysfunctions, hip, pelvic and low back pain.

Emotional imbalances include our commitment to relationships. Our ability to express our emotions. Our ability to have fun, play based on desires, creativity, pleasure, sexuality. Fears of impotence, betrayal, addictions.

When this chakra is balanced, we have an ability to take risks, we are creative, we are committed. We are passionate, sexual and outgoing.

The lesson of this chakra is to honour others.

3rd or Solar Plexus Chakra ~ Located three inches above your navel.

Physical imbalances include digestive problems, liver dysfunction, chronic fatigue, high blood pressure, diabetes, stomach ulcers, pancreas and gallbladder issues, colon diseases.

Emotional imbalances include issues of personal power and self-esteem, our inner critic comes out. Fears of rejection, criticism, physical appearances.

When this chakra is balanced, we feel self-respect and self-compassion. We feel in control, assertive, confident.

The lesson of this chakra is self-acceptance.

4th or Heart Chakra ~ Located at the heart.

Physical imbalances include asthma, heart disease, lung disease, issues with breasts, lymphatic systems, upper back and shoulder problems, arm and wrist pain.

Emotional imbalances include issues of the heart; over-loving to the point of suffocation, jealousy, abandonment, anger, bitterness. Fear of loneliness.

When this chakra is balanced we feel joy, gratitude, love and compassion, forgiveness flows freely, trust is gained.

The lesson of this chakra is I Love.

5th or Throat Chakra ~ Located at the throat.

Physical imbalances include thyroid issues, sore throats, laryngitis, TMJ, ear infections, ulcers, any facial problems (chin, cheek, lips, tongue problems) neck and shoulder pain.

Emotional imbalances include issues of self-expression through communication, both spoken or written. Fear of no power or choice. No willpower or being out of control.